Current Watch List

My recent drama happenings: Discovered Wuxia & Xianxia and re-watched a few favorite dramas

I have recently discovered Wuxia and Xianxia dramas and have binge watched my way through quite a few of those.

Let’s see what I have been watching in the last few weeks (I will refer to the running list I keep on my phone or else I forget )

  • Ten Miles of Peach Blossoms
  • The Journey of Flower
  • The Four
  • The Legend of Zu (Midway)
  • General and I
  • Legend of Chusen (Midway)
  • Boss and Me (Re-watching)
  • Strong Woman Do Bong Soon
  • Love O2O (Re-watching)
  • Prince of Wolf (Just starting)
  • Nirvana in Fire (Midway)

Be still my heart after watching my very first Wuxia drama (which happened to be a Xianxia as well, Ten Miles of Peach Blossoms. Watching the first 30 episodes of  Ten Miles of Peach Blossoms was pretty eye opening to me about how delicious a Wuxia or Xianxia drama could be. The costumes, the cinematography, the interesting characters, I AM IN LOVE!! Seeing this drama has really inspired me to check out more Chinese dramas and I have binge watched a few really great ones since then and found a few that were not AS amazing (cough, The Four, cough). ten miles of peach blossoms main couple 2

 

I have not watched many historical Kdramas because I tend to dislike the palace intrigue story lines. I don’t mind some of that but when the palace intrigue, backstabbing and scheming by official and courtiers is most of the plot it gets tiring pretty quickly for me. Same with modern day palace intrigue which happens within the chaebol conglomerate fighting for control stories, I tend to want to use the fast forward button. The-Heirs-Korean-Drama

So the Chinese Wuxia dramas have been a really pleasant surprise for me. I have found them not focusing so much on palace intrigue and have more adventuring story lines. Though to be fair this may be based on my selection because there definitely seem to be many Cdramas that do focus on so-and-so becoming king, etc. I have found the whole idea of the martial arts sects and Taoism to be quite interesting & unique from anything in the Western world that I am familiar with. The idea of cultivation seems to be prevalent in many of the Cdramas I have been checking out and seems like such a fascinating way to gain status, powers, magic and intelligence.wallace huo Journey of flower

Fantasy elements seem to be really prevalent in the Wuxia world, anything from anti-gravity flying while fighting powers to being actual gods and goddesses with straight up magical abilities. Ten Miles of Peach Blossoms is an example of the latter with a mortal world and a god/magic world that consists of many different kingdoms and types of magical beings (nine tailed foxes, ghost kingdom, celestial realm, etc.)  Nirvana in Fire and General and I are excellent examples of extraordinary fighting skills but no actual magical powers exist in these worlds. This may be due to the difference between Wuxia and Xianxia genres. I am a total newbie to these types of stories but my basic understanding is that Wuxia are mainly historical martial arts focused dramas/movies/books. While Xianxia, a subset of Wuxia, has the elements of Wuxia but also builds on these original themes with  strong fantasy elements and often have Taoism/cultivating as main objectives for characters.

general and i promo shot

If you have any thoughts of Wuxia or Xianxia dramas please leave me a comment and suggest any dramas that I should check out!

I will be posting about each drama that are on my currently watching/just watched list above so if you are wondering about any of these dramas I will share my opinions, thanks!

 

 

5 thoughts on “My recent drama happenings: Discovered Wuxia & Xianxia and re-watched a few favorite dramas

    1. haha thanks! If a show is really good I will binge it for nearly a full day then I need to take a break and switch to a different drama (often one I have already seen or something more lighthearted). And then of course some of these I watched while they were/are currently airing so I only get so many episodes before I am caught up 🙂 thx for the comment and follow ❤

      Like

  1. I would say Ten Miles of Peach Blossom and Legend of Flower are the top of Xian xia dramas currently. Dramas starring Zhao Li Ying are often popular are good to start with which I see you already have 😀 Another one is Cuo Dian Yuan Yang and Legend of Lu Zhen. Legend of Lu Zhen is what catapulted her to her current fame but it has a little palace harem in it. Nirvana in Fire is good and the modern counterpart (The Disguiser, set in revolutionary era Shanghai ) is also as good. If you like Yang Mi, you can watch one of her earlier works, Palace Lock Heart Jade. It’s a time-travel genre so she isn’t the typical palace girl but your modern girl placed in ancient times.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome, I appreciate the suggestions! I sometimes just randomly pick the next Chinese drama based on actors since I don’t know much about the genre yet. I am about halfway through Nirvana in Fire and am feeling a bit bogged down by the palace intrigue but It is so good that it even makes that not too cumbersome. I will definitely check out these drama, thank so much! 💖💖

      Liked by 1 person

  2. There are some truly awful wuxia/xianxia/fantasy dramas out there too. You lucked out with some of the good ones. ;D

    Of those you mentioned I’ve only watched ‘Ten Miles of Peach Blossoms’, which I loved. Though I think it was mainly due to Mark and Yang Mi. The story itself was nothing too special. Tried ‘The Four’ but dropped it pretty early on, as did ‘Legend of Chusen’, which I found quite boring and I’m also not the biggest fan of Li Yi Feng’s acting. Didn’t get far with ‘General and I’ either, I think the plot started going in circles and I lost interest. 😀

    My favorite wuxia by far is ‘Of Monks and Masters’. I went totally potty about it back in 2015, ha. Watched it twice in a row and bits and pieces of the episodes even more times. Gosh, it’s such a great drama, gorgeous to look at too. Sadly it’s not subbed and I doubt it’ll ever be. Couple of other fantasy cdramas I’ve liked are ‘Wuxin – The Monster Killer’ (set in the republican era) and ‘Novoland: Castle in the Sky’. Wuxin has a 2nd season coming up at some point.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

